Alphabet Movie Meme

Image8

The Drama Llama has this cool meme going at her site, and Cinematic Corner and Film Grimoire have joined in, so I thought it would be fun to do a similar list with an Asian Cinema bias.

Anticipating this Movie in 2014

 kiki

The live action version of Studio Ghibli’s Kiki’s Delivery Service. I adore the anime, but I have often thought that it would work well as a live action – I shall soon know! The girl playing Kiki is 16 year old Fuka Koshiba, a TV drama actress from what I can gather. But she looks the part – cute and adorable.

Best Adaptation of a Book

Ringu Ring by Koji Suzuki. Changing the protagonist from a male journalist, to a female, and casting the hypnotic Hiroyuki Sanada as her ex, was just brilliant. It added another dimension to the film version – the novel was rather flat and static. It worked far better in the medium of film because, after all, it was about a visual curse contained in a video tape.

 Celebrity I Most Admire

Hayao_Miyazaki

I don’t really want to meet any of them really, I just enjoy the movies. But the one I most admire would have to be Hayao Myazaki, for his vision, his lyrical imagination and his humanity. Almost every movie I love most of all was produced by Studio Ghibli.

Dream Director/Actor Pairing

chow kang

Off the top of my head – Korea’s Song Kang-ho (The Host) and Hong Kong’s Stephen Chow. Both are irresistably funny men and it would be aweseome.

Essential Classic Film

yo2

Yojimbo is the classic Mifune/Kurasawa collaboration, with Mifune’s ronin (masterless samurai) walking into town and playing two nasty crime bosses off each other. This movie inspired Clint Eastwood and Sergio Leone to create the Man with No Name, and it still is the greatest ronin movie ever made.

Favourite Film Franchise

 L Change the World

Death Note, which comprises three movies so far – Death Note, The Last Name and L: Change the World. Tatsuya Fujiwara plays Light in the first two, while Kenichi Matsuyama has the third to himself. I am hoping for more L movies to add to this list, there’s plenty more manga material to showcase Matsuyama’s superb portrayal.

Genre I Watch The Most

 Reign of Assassins

Wuxia. Michelle Yeoh is my Goddess.

Hidden Gem

 53621051783177821_JG4fExwq_f

In the Mood for Love, set in Hong in the 60s, starring Maggie Cheung and Tony Leung, as Chow and li-Zhen, whose husband and wife are cheating on them with each other. Director Wong Kar-wai moves these two through the humid summer city and the their unbearably unrequited attraction like dancers on a stage. Superb, lyrical, unforgettable.

 Important Moment in My Film Life

 TOBOR-THE-GREAT-2

Seeing my first movie at a very tenbder age. My Dad was babysitting and he took me to see a science fiction movie called Tobor the Great. It was Ireland so there was no half naked woman on the poster. We loved it. I was hooked on SF and cinema from that moment on.

Just Right for a Rainy Day

 moment

Moment to Remember is the perfect rainy day weepie to curl up with – Jung Woo Sung falls in love with a girl who has youth onset Alzheimer’s Disease. This movie can make you laugh and cry, all at the same time. Definitely always will be one of my fave Korean movies.

Kiddie Movie I Still Shamelessly Enjoy

 KUNG FU PANDA

I have no shame about my love of ‘kiddie movies’! But in this slot I will put Kung Fu Panda *blush!* I adore Po, I have the original DVD and all the follow ups.

Location I’d Most Like To Visit

 Jackie_Hong_Kong_Harbor_Sing_Tao

Hong Kong. It is one of my favourite movie settings…and Jackie’s there!

Marathons I Watched

 The last one was all three Lord of the Rings movies back to back. Don’t think I will be doing that with The Hobbit.

Netflix Movie I Actually Watched

 We don’t have Netflix in Australia, but the question intrigues me. Do people in the US really download movies from Netflix and not watch them?

One Movie I Saw In Theatres More Than Five Times

 Lady and the Tramp

At the moment the record is still held by Lady and the Tramp when I was a kid. Saw it umpteen times by convincing relatives and family friends to take me.

Preferred Place To Watch A Movie: Cinema Or At Home?

 I love being able to choose my own food and snacks, and curl up in comfort, so mostly at home, yes. But I also enjoy going to the cinema. Some movies have to be that first time cinema experience. But when it comes to Asian movies, it has to be at home, since I get most of them off eBay or stream them.

 Quote That Inspires Me

 “Kung Fu lives in everything we do…it lives in how we put on the jacket, how we take off the jacket…it lives in how we treat people…everything is Kung Fu. (Jackie Chan, Karate Kid)

Remakes: Friend Or Foe?

 Usually I hate remakes, which are only intended to show off the latest tricks in CGI. But a well made remake, like the afore-mentioned Karate Kid, is acceptable.

 Snack I Enjoy Most

 Po_Eating_Bowl_of_Noodles

Noodles! Of Course.

Thrilling Movie That Blows My Mind

 Yuryeong

Yureong (Phantom Submarine), with Min Su Choi and Jung Woo Sung. One of the first movies I saw with these two South Korean actors and still, hands down, one of the best. It is a movie I would watch over and again – in fact I do. Director Byung Chun Min never lets go of his grip on the tense exciting action.

Unapologetic Fanperson For

Little-Big-Soldier-Jackie-Chan-1024x682

Jackie Chan. I even watched that appalling thing he made with Jennifer Love Hewitt – only once though.

Very Excited For Award Season?

 Not really, I have watched the occasional Hong Kong Awards but you have to track this stuff down on YouTube.

Wish I Had Never Watched…

 I saw the Devil

I Saw the Devil. I love the stars (Lee Byung Hun and Min-Suk Chol), but this is one harrowing ride I have sworn never to take again.

X-rated Movie I Watched at a Young Age

 the_blob

That would be The Blob. A local cinema was showing this and Bambi, and I bought a ticket to Bambi, and snuck past a half asleep ticket checker in a crowd of people. I hid at the back, all excited to be seeing an X film. What a crock! It was so stupid. I should have watched Bambi instead.

Your Latest Movie-Related Obsession

 GI-Joe-II-Storm-Shadow_1311299570

Lee Byung Hun. Yes, shallow. Guilty as charged. But he’s a great actor too.

ZZZ-Catchers: Name A Movie That Has Put You To Sleep!

Prometheus_movie_exploring-cave Few Asian movies have a somnambulant effect on me, but a quite a few western movies do. Last night I watched Prometheus. Haven’t seen anything so mind numbingly stupid since The Blob. After that,  I slept like a top. 

One thought on “Alphabet Movie Meme

Leave a Reply

